2021 Combined Hansa Class Australian Championships

Published Mon 05 Apr 2021

2021 Hansa Nationals report

38 Hansa sailors came from ACT, Victoria, SA, Tasmania, QLD and NSW to compete in the postponed from 2020 to 2021 Combined Hansa Class Australian Championships and for the first time included the 2021 Australian Para Sailing Hansa Class Championships.  The Nationals were held at the Canberra Yacht Club on 2nd to 5th April sailing on Lake Burley Griffin.  On Thursday and Friday amid the unloading, inspecting and weighing Australian Sailing held a coaching session in the club house which was much appreciated by those that attended. The practice race held on Friday afternoon was the only time there was enough wind to set a properly timed course.

On Saturday the 2.3s and 303 singles were due to start at 11 o’clock but with the postponement flag up sailors were held ashore for an hour until there were some ripples on the water.  Twice the Race Officer sounded starting sequence and twice the AP went up just before the Class flag came down.  There wasn’t enough wind to race so sailing was abandoned for the day. 

Sunday was equally windless in the morning so a Sailors’ Meeting was called at midday to discuss the options of what could be done to get three races in for all four divisions. There was going to be wind later on Sunday but only with enough time for three short races.  So starting at 1500 hours the 2.3s and 303 singles got their three races in to constitute a series finishing by 1700, it was a long day.  After sailing David Staley held a very informative Para Sailing Forum in the clubhouse with the opportunity to discuss the future of para sailing in Australia.

Monday was the turn of the 303 doubles and Libertys and again very light wind but with one round of a shortened trapezoid course the Race Officer was able to get in three races to constitute a series for these divisions.

Having not seen one another for at least two or three years due to Covid and lockdowns sailors, friends and family were delighted to have plenty of time to catch up and socialise; for everybody this was the first time out of their state since March 2020. 

Many thanks to Terry Peek, Gerda Lambeck and the volunteer team at Canberra Yacht Club and particularly to RO Gerry Brooks for putting on a series in very trying conditions. Thank you Canberra Yacht Club.

2022 Nationals will be held on 15th to 18th April at Adelaide Sailing Club, West Beach

Perpetual Championship trophies were awarded to;

2.3                   Cooper Brown from Victoria

303 singles      Chris Symonds from Tasmania

303 doubles    Chris Symonds and Manuela Klinger from Tasmania

Liberty             Charlie Weatherly from Victoria

Victoria won the State Team Trophy, the Hans Hill Volunteer Award was given to Terry Peek and the President’s Trophy was presented to Chris Symonds.